Mmmm take that Ikea! Amazing homemade Swedish meatballs!

17 Oct

Okay I have a confession, I LOVE the Swedish meatballs at IKEA. Everytime my mom and I would go we HAD to stop and get our meatballs. Hey it was a tradition, and really if you’ve ever tasted them you’d understand the deliciousness of these tiny round morsels of heaven. Now, I live in a different country and the nearest IKEA is two hours away… I don’t think hubby would have appreciated a drive after working all day just for some meatballs so I decided to make them myself… Or at the very least make a good attempt at it. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! Even hubby said it was awesome, so naturally I thought I would share it with you all!

What you’ll need:

4-5 slices of white bread
2/3 cup milk
1 large onion grated
1 tbsp butter
1lb ground pork
1 1/2 lb ground beef 85/15
2 tsp kosher salt
2 tsp ground pepper
1/2 tsp allspice
1tbsp canola oil
6 tbsp butter
1/2 cup flour
1 quart of beef broth
1/2 -3/4 cup of sour cream

(Now the recipe I used called for 2 eggs but I forgot to put the egg in and it was delish! So if you want the egg add it but it definitely doesn’t suffer without the egg)

1. Put the slices of bread in a large mixing bowl, cover with the milk and let sit 15-20 minutes so the milk soaks into the bread.

2. Grate the onion and sautée in a pan with 1 tbsp of butter until translucent. Remove from the heat and let cool.

3. Break the bread up with your fingers or a food processor (I always just use my hands- it’s meat balls people! Lol). Add the onions, pork, beef, salt, pepper and allspice. Mix well with your hands- the mix WILL be sticky.

4. Use a tbsp and form the meatballs, place on a baking sheet. (I got around 40-50 meatballs)

5. Melt the 6 tbsp butter with the tbsp of canola oil in a large pan. Place the meatballs in the pan and brown them. They don’t need to be fully cooked, just browned and you will have to do it in batches, don’t crowd them. Move the browned meatballs to a plate with a slotted spoon and then start the second batch.

6. When your done browning the meatballs keep the butter in the pan and add the flour to make a roux. Cook the roux until a nice caramel/coffee color.

7. Slowly add the beef broth a little at a time. Dot worry it will seize up and look like you ruined it. Don’t panic, just keep stirring and add the broth until you get a nice sauce. Add salt and pepper To taste if needed. Add the meatballs back, cover and cook for another 30 minutes or so.

8. When you’re ready to serve remove from heat and add the sour cream. Gently stir until incorporated and serve over egg noodles.

9. Enjoy!!! Mmmmmm, seriously give this recipe a go.

20131016-220322.jpg

Leave a Reply

